Home » About Caldwell » The President of Caldwell University

The President of Caldwell University

Caldwell University President Nancy Blattner's headshot photo.

Nancy H. Blattner, Ph.D. became the eighth president of Caldwell University on July 1, 2009. She is the first lay president in Caldwell University’s 75 year history. Prior to her arrival at Caldwell University, she served as the Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs at Fontbonne University.

President Blattner is the chair for the Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, a board member of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities, member of the Executive Committee of the New Jersey President’s Council, and a board member for St. Anselm University.

In 2012 she was honored by Executive Women of NJ at its Salute to Policy Makers Awards and 2014 she was named one of NJ Biz’s Best Fifty Women in Business. In 2015 she received the Case District II Executive Leadership Award and in 2016 was named a Woman of Achievement by the Tri-County Scholarship Fund.

Dr. Blattner spent 22 years at Southeast Missouri State University in several positions including Academic Associate Office of the Provost; Associate Dean, School of University Studies; and Director of Writing Assessment.  She was a tenured full professor in the Department of English where she taught for 15 years.

She holds a B.S. in Secondary Education/English and an M.A. in English from Southeast Missouri State University and a Ph.D. in Educational Psychology from Southern Illinois University – Carbondale.