Back to news
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Mail

Caldwell, N.J., April 15, 2016 – The Caldwell University Wind Ensemble and the Tri-State Brass Society Quintet conducted by Music faculty Rebecca Vega will perform the world premiere of “Sorrow of the Earth” by composer Edgar F. Girtain IV, 8 p.m. Monday, May 2, in the Student Center Auditorium. The concert is free and open to the public.

Girtain is an emerging American composer whose music is frequently performed at universities and concert halls around the world. He is known for his lyricism, versatility of style and command of color. He has been commissioned by the New Brunswick Chamber Orchestra, the Arapahoe Philharmonic, Sinfonietta NOVA, the Voorhees Chapel Choir and John Rojak of the American Brass Quintet. He holds a bachelor’s degree in music education and an M.A. in composition from Rutgers University. Learn more at

The Tri-State Brass Society is an active chamber music ensemble based in northern New Jersey. Founded in 2015, the society is committed to the performance of a high-quality chamber brass repertoire and to education. The ensemble plays a wide range of musical styles, including but not limited to classical, jazz, funk, pop and world music. Over the past year, the Tri-State Brass Society has shared its eclectic taste with the public by performing educational outreach concerts, church services, recitals and weddings.