Back to news
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Mail
Members of the Caldwell University Alumni Association with 2014 Peggy Harris Alumna of the Year Awardee, Carol O’Connor Toolan ’64 (L to R: Katie Doster ’07 MA ‘14, Lynn Giachetti Machtemes ’98, Laurita Warner ‘70, Rosemary Hilbert ’96, Carol O’Connor Toolan ’64, Mary Sellitto-Curcio ’83, Rosann Rovento Bar ‘82, Geraldine Lopez ‘08, Camille Cronin-Reinhold ’81)

Alumna Carol O’Connor Toolan ’64 was presented with the Peggy Harris Alumna of the Year Award at Caldwell University’s Homecoming and Family Day on Saturday, October 20 for her dedication to the university as a volunteer and philanthropist.

Toolan served as the alumnae representative to the Board of Trustees under Sister Vivien Jennings and Sister Patrice from 1993 to 1999.  She has been a member of the President’s Society for two decades. Carol funded the Heritage Wall, located in Werner Hall, which was designed by Sister Vivien as a tribute to the many significant figures in the university’s history. She is a member of the Shore Chapter of the Alumni Association.  Toolan also took on a lead role in bringing her classmates together for their 50th reunion at Homecoming this year.

Within her community, Carol is a member of the American Association of University Women, past member of the Junior League, and an active supporter of many Monmouth County charitable organizations.  She is a seasoned parishioner at Holy Cross Church in Rumson where she has served as a lector, CCD teacher and Eucharistic minister.  Her love of art and art history has been deepened by travels abroad with the Metropolitan Museum and Georgetown University.

The Peggy Harris Alumna of the Year Award is presented annually to alumni who given outstanding service to the university. 

For more information about Caldwell University alumni awards, benefits, and more, visit