CAEP Annual Report

The following data are recommended for the 2014-15 Academic Year, as submitted in April, 2016.

  • Percent/Number of candidates who passed the SLLA and School Administrator exams from 9/1/2014 – 8/31/2015 (13 principal certification candidates; 92.3% passed the SLLA exam; 100% of School Administrator candidates).
  • Breakdown of sub-test scores – 9/1/2013 – 8/31/2014 compared with the results of 9/1/2014 – 8/31/2015 (See: Institutional Summary Reports 2013-14 and 2014-15; Attachments 1-3)
  • Analysis and planning based on the SLLA and School Administrator exam results. In comparing the 2014-15 results with the 2013-14, according to the eight test categories in the institutional, state-wide, and national standards. More variation between the two years is apparent when one examines the results by quartiles. Stronger fourth (Higher) quartile performance is found in six of eight categories in the 2014-15 SLLA results. The Praxis exam for School Administrator by eight candidates in 2014-15. The strongest test category of performance was in Integrated Knowledge and Understanding and Administrative leadership where examinees exceeded the State and National averages. These results and their constituent parts have been communicated to the EAS program faculty (Note: Review the 2014-15 SLLA and School Administrator results).
  • Mentor rubric ratings for spring 2014 and 2015 were completed by candidate, mentor, and University supervisor. There were 7 candidates for whom all three evaluations were completed. Inter-rater reliability of 82% was determined to support the validity of these data (See: The results of the ED 680 Mentor rubric – Attachment 4).
  • Ratings have been recorded to assess the Quality of Written Research using a rubric created for that purpose, including commentary on the three cross-cutting themes. In 2014, the overall mean was 3.94 on a scale of 1-4. In the spring, 2015 the mean for written research was 3.48.(See: Attachment 5 – Rubric for Written Research)
  • In 2013-14 there were 35 supervisor certificates, 22 principal certificates, and 5 school administrator certificates earned. Eight recipients attained both principal and supervisor certificates. In 2014-15 candidates acquired 18 principal certificates, 13 school administrator certificates, and 20 supervisor certificates. Four individuals earned two certificates each (See: Certifications 2013-14 and 2014-15).
  • Correlation between SLLA scores and final GPAs (Mean=3.93) of the same candidates was calculated. A Pearson correlation between the 12 available SLLA scores and the mean scores of four relevant categories (Vision & Goals, Managing Organizational Systems & Safety, The Educational System, and Vision & Goals (constructed response) ) revealed a coefficient of +.2351. While this is technically a positive correlation, it is a weak relation. A coefficient of determination(R²) explained only 5% of the variance.(See: Attachment 7)
  • Results of the Annual Program Survey and summary for 2014-15 indicate a strong level of student program support (See: Revised 2014-15 Annual Program Evaluation Survey-Attachment 8).
  • Alumni survey results are reported for 50 completers in 2014-15 which represents a high response rate. Means and standard deviations for each question are reported. Of the 41 responses to question 5 (“What is your current position?”) , the breakdown was as follows: Teachers 49% (19); Principal 13% (5); Supervisor 15.4% (6); Superintendent of Schools 3% (1). There were eight non-responders. (See: 2014-15 Alumni Survey results – Attachment 9)
  • An analysis of transcripts revealed a 100% completion rate for the 2014-15 academic year.

Validity

In order to ascertain the validity of our measures we turned our EAS program claims into questions and applied the data to respond to the questions. 

Question 1: Do candidates understand the theories and strategic decision-making of Educational Administration and Supervision (EAS)to meet the learning needs of students?
We submit that the GPAs that they attained in their course work supports that understanding. Secondly, the Mentor rubric scores reflect how well our candidates implement their classroom learning during their internship experience. This implementation is assessed by their mentor, college liaison, and themselves. Finally, the candidates’ performance on the SLLA exams indicates their knowledge of theory and strategic decision-making as represented therein.
Question 2: Do the candidates act in an ethical, fair, and trustworthy manner in their interactions with all members of the school community?
Here we submit two sets of evidence to support this assertion and respond to the second question. We cite the results of the Mentor rubric wherein the issue of ethical behavior is assessed in triangulated fashion. We also report the findings of the Alumni Survey where the ethical basis for the graduates’ behavior is also assessed.
Question 3: Do the candidates meet the requirements for certification and become employed as principals, supervisors, and school administrators in the State of New Jersey?
In evidence for this claim/question, we submit our percentage of graduates who successfully attain certification in each of these three categories. Furthermore, we offer the results of our Alumni Survey which informs us as to the number and percent of graduates currently employed as administrators in one of the three categories of certification.

Respectfully submitted,

John R. McIntyre, Ed. D.
Education Division
Caldwell University
120 Bloomfield Ave.
Caldwell, NJ 07006
jmcintyr@caldwell.edu
(973)618-3572