Veritas Award Honorees, 1986 – Present


Dorothy Cunningham, Ph.D. ’49
               Excellence in Research Science and Education

Eileen Jones, Esq. ’57
               Excellence in Government Law

Elizabeth Fowler Witham `62
               Excellence in Performing Arts


Rosemary Gelshenen `43
          Excellence in Education

Anne M. Buckley `52
          Excellence in Journalism

Angela Aiello Zaccardi `56, MA ‘73
          Excellence in Government


Sister Gerardine Mueller, O.P.,`54
          Excellence in Art

Christine White `68
          Excellence in Her Field

Deborah Streleck-Borenstein `74
          Excellence in the Corporate World


Irene M. Foley `45
          Excellence in the Field of Media

Helen Kennedy Gerity `50
          Excellence in Catholic Education

Commander Margaret O’Malley `69
          Excellence in Leadership and Service to Country

Sister Maura Campbell, O.P., Ph.D.

 1990 Charlotte Kunst `47
          Excellence in Pharmaceutical Communication
Marcia Daley Bradley, Ph.D. `62
          Excellence in Science
Florence Mercurio Riggs `63
          Excellence in Music
 1991 Sister Mary Andrew Kennedy, O.P.`49
          Excellence in Christian Witness
Rita Walter Henry `59
          Excellence in Innovative Teaching
Patricia Dempsey Faherty `55
          Excellence in Christian Witness
Maria DeLuca `68
         Excellence in Independent Filmmaking
 1992 Marilyn MacNee Coburn `48
         Excellence in Human Concerns
Lisa Murtha Bromberg, Esq. `80
         Excellence in the Environmental Field
Antonina Terranova Garcia, Ph.D.`68
         Excellence in Psychodrama
 1993 June Dwyer Castano `55
         Excellence in Leadership
Carol Norcia Funk `68
         Excellence in Psychology
Sister Miriam Therese MacGillis, O.P.’64
         Excellence in Ecology
 1994 Sister Vivien Jennings, O.P., Ph.D.`60
         Excellence in Leadership and Contributions to Education
Betty Murphy Durkin `80
         Excellence in Her Selfless Dedication to the Creation of Family and its Life
Mary Constantini Mathieu `74
         Excellence in Art
 1995 Mariette Reilly `52
          Excellence in Regulatory Operations for the Pharmaceutical Industry
Elaine Vertucci Baran `66
          Posthumous Award for Excellence in Foreign Language Education
Sister Margaret Thomas McGovern, O.P., Ph.D. `61
          Excellence in Spiritual Leadership
 1996 Arline M. Friscia `56
          Excellence in Politics
Nancy Meier Calabrese `68
          Excellence in Medicine
Sister M. Anne John O’Loughlin, O.P., Ph.D. `59
           Excellence in Education
 1997 Mary Anne Willson `62
           Excellence in Hospital Administration
Patricia A. Peck-Bernet `72
           Excellence in Corporate Management
Sister Mary Kathleen Malarky, O.P. `60
           Excellence in Early Childhood Education
 1998 Carol Occhiogrosso Hutchinson `67
           Excellence in Computer Systems Engineering
Fredericka Galuppo Mabon `61
           Excellence in Community Outreach
Carmella Bucceri Altamura `61
           Excellence in Music
 1999 Sister Rita Margaret Chambers, O.P., `52
           Excellence in Higher Education
Angela Perillo Stephan `71
           Excellence in Management Consulting
Phyllis M. Cordasco Healy-Sova `78
           Excellence in Social Services
 2000 Barbara Elizabeth Fitzsimmons `57
           Excellence in Higher Education and Social Services
Patricia L. Grodeck `70
           Excellence in Secondary Education
Jean C. Lauricella, M.D. `73
            Excellence in Medicine
 2001 Dorothy C. Caccio `61
            Excellence in Music
Marilyn P. Bastardi `66
            Excellence in Business and Volunteering
Kathleen Bott-Fleming `88
            Excellence in Counseling for Advancement of Women in Science
 2002 MaryAnne Covich Kowalczyk `61
            Excellence in Communication for the Deaf
Rita Finn Menz `67
            Excellence in Legal Marketing
Margaret Poltorak-Keys `75
            Excellence in Artistic Design
 2003 Linda Sue Galate, Ph.D., `66
            Excellence in Christian Hospital Research
Marie Hogarty `68
            Excellence in Maternal and Child Healthcare
Constance Killion `73
            Excellence in Aerospace Engineering
 2004 Beatriz Gomez-Klein `73
            Excellence in Psychotherapy
Linda Chiaravalloti Luciano `78
           Excellence in Health Administration
Edward J. Nekel `98
           Excellence in Criminal Justice
 2005 Sister Patrice Werner, O.P., Ph.D., ‘66
           Excellence in Leadership in Higher Education

Sister Elizabeth Michael Boyle, O.P., Ph.D. ‘59
           Excellence in Education and Poetry
June LaBella Drewry ‘71
           Excellence in Technology Management
Sally Ward Kelly ‘55
         Excellence in Early Childhood Development


 2007 Elizabeth Glenn Matuszak ’43
        Special Veritas Award: Pioneer in Caldwell University History
Sister Alice Matthew Thees, O.P., Ph.D ’54
        Excellence in Administration
Caroline Ward, M.L.S. ’68
        Excellence in Librarianship
 2008 Michael Ippolito, Ph.D. ‘84
        Excellence in Psychotherapy
Kathleen P. Galop, Esq. ‘68
        Excellence in Historic Preservation
Laurita McGreevy Warner ‘70
        Excellence in Corporate Communication
 2009 Sister Mary Amelia Cetera, O.P. ‘54
        Excellence in Education Leadership
Irene Sinteff ‘73
        Excellence in Human Resources
Patrick Lamy, Ph. D. ‘91
        Excellence in Student Affairs in Higher Ed.
 2010 Mary Jo Rolli Codey ‘77
        Excellence in Mental Health Advocacy
Nancy Costello Miller, Esq. ‘79
        Excellence in Jurisprudence
Edward Collins ‘98
        Excellence in Financial Management
 2011 Elizabeth Matuszak Howson ‘69
        Excellence in Chemical Education
Dr. Veronica Dowling ‘72
        Excellence in Orthopedic Surgery
Mrs. Marion Goldstein ‘78
        Excellence in Poetry Therapy
 2012 Anne Poltorak ‘78
        Excellence in Human Resource Management
Rosann Rovento Bar ‘82, Ph.D.
        Excellence in Sociology Education
Juan Sheenan ‘92
        Excellence in Catholic Social Services
 2013 Justin Cece ’99
        Excellence in Media
Barbara Detrick, Ph.D. ’65
        Excellence in Immunology
Rosemary Buczek ’71
        Excellence in Calligraphy